A horrible hack

Fourteen Nights At Sea

Minor Light

Year Released: 2015
Format: LP
Label: Hobbledehoy
Reviewed by MH on Jan 14, 2018
This is Melbourne post rockers Fourteen Nights At Sea's 3rd album and opens with a wall of noise that prevails for the first five or so minutes of opener "Teeth Marks" before settling into a more restrained, drifting ending. Rather than sudden switches from quiet to loud the tracks settle into sustained periods of noisy and dark post rock before reverting to more subdued, ambient soundscapes like "Vale". The cover art to this record is a fitting match to the bleakness of the tracks and it's a noisy and grandiose LP.

Share this: